Tuesday, 7 October 2014

Ladybird Tuesday - The Three Little Pigs

The Three Little Pigs is part of Series 606D - Well Loved Tales. I think that most people had at least one of these books around when they were little. Published between 1964 and the early 1990s, these books were re-tellings of classic stories and fairy tales, and were graded in order of reading difficulty. The Three Little Pigs was published in 1965 and is one of the earliest books in the series, along with classics like Cinderella and The Elves and the Shoemaker. It is a Grade 1, so at the easiest reading level.

Vintage Ladybird The Three Little Pigs

The book contains all the classic lines - "By the hair of my chinny chin chin, I will not let you come in" and "I'll huff and I'll puff and I'll blow yourself in". The story does get a little more complicated than I remember it though when it comes to the third pig with the house of bricks. Although the first two pigs get eaten up (no sanitised version here), the third pig spends the last two thirds of the book outwitting the wolf before the wolf meets his inevitable fate in the cooking pot.

The Three Little Pigs Well Loved Tales

The illustrations in the book are a little more cartoonish than you usually see in a Ladybird book, perhaps because it is animals rather than humans that are being portrayed. Although at an easier reading level I think it would still be a challenging book for a new reader, but it would also be great for reading aloud to younger children.

The Three Little Pigs Vintage Ladybird

I'm joining in with Ladybird Tuesday at Being Mrs C. You can see all my previous Ladybird Tuesday posts here.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments make my day!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...